Message sent from:

Kyson Governing Body Profile

The Governors have an overall responsibility for the running of the school and for determining its aims, objectives and policies.

If you wish to contact the Chair of Governors you should do so through the school. If you wish to become a Governor, please speak directly to Libby Brown.

A copy of Govrning Body minutes can be found in the school foyer.

Libby Brown

Libby became Headteacher at Kyson in 2000. Previously she was Head at East Bergholt VCP and St Matthews CEVAP. She has worked in a wide variety of schools across Suffolk and in a variety of senior roles within the Local Authority.

She is very pleased to lead the school which is rich in diversity and delights in the everyday successes and challenges.

  • Date appointed - 01/09/00
  • Term of office - no end date
  • Register of interests - None
  • Headteacher Governor
  • Finance, Premises and Health & Safety Committee
  • Personnel, Performance Management and Safeguarding Committee

Mrs Fiona Fossett

Fiona is a committed member of the teaching team at Kyson, working at the school since September 2007.

Fiona currently teaches in Year 6 and enjoys the challenge of teaching and nurturing older children.

In her free time, Fiona enjoys spending time with her husband and two teenage children.

Fiona is passionate about nature and the natural world. She particularly enjoys gardening, walking and ready.

  • Date appointed - 01/09/15
  • Term of office - 31/08/19
  • Register of Interests - None
Fional Fossett
  • Staff Governor
  • Learning and Attainment Committee

Mrs Rebecca Gander

Rebecca joined the Governors in March 2018 and she has a daughter at Kyson. She is a contemporary art curator living in Saxmundham with her husband who is an artist, and their two daughters.

Rebecca is passionate about creative thinking and learning and enjoys healthy baking and all kinds of crafting.

  • Date appointed - 15/03/18
  • Term of office - 14/03/22
  • Register of Interests - Trustee Original Projects
Rebecca Gander(2)
  • Co-Opted Governor
  • SEND Governor
  • Personnel, Performance Management & Safeguarding Committee
  • Head's Performance Management Committee
  • Appeals Committee

Mr Tom Gunson

Tom was appointed Deputy Headteacher of Kyson after joining the school from Cedarwood Primary in February 2014.

Tom is Chair of the Learning and Teaching Committee. Although passionate about English and History, Tom thoroughly enjoys teaching all subjects and the opportunity to learn something new.

Outside of school, Tom is married with two young daughters and enjoys various sports and reading.

  • Date appointed - 22/11/16
  • Term of office - 21/11/20
  • Register of Interests - Spouse, Mrs Laura Gunson, Teacher at Kyson.
  • Co-Opted Governor
  • Learning and Attainment Committee (Chair)
  • Finance, Premises and Health & Safety Committee

Mrs Hannah Johnson-Gren

Hannah has lived in Woodbridge and the surrounding area for the past 18 years. She has two children who attend Kyson.

Hannah's background and professional carreer has included working for large and small local businesses and also a time in London. Specialising in event management with a strong background of finances, people development and supporting profitable growth. 

Hannah now works part time and enjoys a variety of activities and sports centered around her family, also reading and flower arranging (when she has the time!).

  • Date appointed - 04/12/18
  • Term of office - 03/12/22
  • Register of Interests - Trustee Bromeswell Village Hall Committee
Hannah Johnson-Gren Governor
  • Local Authority Governor

Mr Alan Krailing

Alan joined the Governing Body in 2017 as a parent governor and has a son and a daughter at Kyson.  He has a professional background in Health, Safety and the Environment and is using this experience to help the school in these areas.


Outside of work Alan enjoys sailing with his family on the Deben. 


  • Date appointed - 16/10/17
  • Term of office - 15/10/21
  • Register of Interests - None

  • Parent Governor
  • Health and Safety Governor
  • Finance, Premises and Health & Safety Committee (Chair)
  • Learning and Attainment Committee
  • Hearings Committee

Mrs Kara Murphy - Vice Chair

Kara joined the Governing Body in 2015 and is a Co-Opted Governor. Kara was elected to become Vice-Chair in October 2018.

Kara lives in Hasketon with her husband and three childen, two of whom attend/ed Kyson, and dog. Kara also has two stepsons.

Family is very important to Kara and she loves getting together for nice country and beach walks.

Kara is a player for the Ladies Woodbridge Amazons Rugby Team and is also part of the Easton Ladies Cricket Team.

  • Date appointed - 24/11/15
  • Term of office - 23/11/19
  • Register of Interests - Spouse painter/decorator. 
Kara Murphy
  • Vice Chair
  • Co-Opted Governor
  • Safeguarding Governor
  • Nursery Admissions Panel
  • Personnel, Performance Management & Safeguarding Committee (Chair)
  • Hearings Committee (Chair)
  • Pupil Discipline Committee
  • Head's Performance Management Committee

Mr Derek Rothwell

Derek joined the Governing Body in 2012 and is a Co-opted Governor.  He is a member of the Finance, Premises and Health & Safety Committee and also serves as a Link Governor to help keep our Governors up to date.

Derek is a chartered engineer retired from BT. His children were both pupils at Kyson, although it is sometime since they left! Derek’s wife was a teacher at Kyson for several years.

  • Date appointed - 01/09/15
  • Term of office - 31/08/19
  • Register of interests - None
  • Co-Opted Governor
  • Link Governor
  • Finance, Premises and Health & Safety Committee
  • Learning and Attainment Committee
  • Pupil Discipline Committee (Chair)
  • Hearings Committee

Mrs Sarah Wainer - Chair

Sarah was elected as a Governor in January 2014, having previously served 12 years as a Staff Governor at Birchwood Primary School in Martlesham where she works as a Teacher.

Sarah was elected as Chair in October 2018.

Sarah lives in Woodbridge and has a son in Year 10 and daughter in Year 8 at Farlingaye. Both Sarah's children attended Kyson.

Sarah is on the Learning and Attainment Committee and is keen that the Kyson staff and pupils continue to be passionate about their learning, enjoying a rigorous and enriched curriculum.

  • Date appointed - 23/11/17
  • Term of office - 22/11/21
  • Register of interests - None
  • Chair
  • Co-Opted Governor
  • Eco Action Governor
  • Data Governor
  • Modern Foreign Languages Governor
  • Learning and Attainment Committee
  • Appeals Committe (Chair)
  • Head's Performance Management Committee (Chair)

Mrs Jane Willis

Jane Willis has two children at Kyson. She is a member of the School Council and a regular helper at Kyson Nursery. 

Jane has a professional background and interest in health and science. She is an active member of a local community farm, and also enjoys swimming, theatre and live music. 

  • Date appointed - 16/10/2017
  • Term of office - 15/10/2021
  • Register of interests - None
Jane Willis
  • Parent Governor
  • Pupil Premium Governor
  • School Council Governor
  • Personnel, Performance Management & Safeguarding Committee
  • Head's Performance Management Committee
  • Appeals Committee 
  • Pupil Discipline Committee


Instrument of Government

The name of the school is KYSON. The school is a COMMUNITY school The name of the governing body is “THE GOVERNING BODY OF KYSON PRIMARY SCHOOL”

The governing body shall consist of:

  • 2 parent governors
  • 1 staff governor
  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 LA governor
  • 7 co-opted governors

Total number of Governors 12 and 1 Associate Governor.

The term of office for all governors is 4 YEARS. This instrument of government comes into effect on SEPTEMBER 1ST 2015. This instrument was made by order of SUFFOLK Local Authority on NOVEMBER 26th 2015.

Hit enter to search